Date Night.

I finally got the call I have been waiting for, my surgeon’s office called to let me know my hernia surgery will be 02/26/2013!  I was very excited to hear this as my biggest fear was that I would miss my 5K run this weekend coming up. I will be able to make the run and still get a few more personal runs in before my surgery, then I am out of commission for 5 or 6 weeks during recovery.

Doctor heartI have had a bout of sickness over the last few weeks, first I was hit with the flu bug, I blame myself for this as I did not get my flu shot that I have done every year.  here I sit two weeks later fighting off a bad cold, it has sidelined me for 3 days now and my training days are getting shorter and shorter.   It turns out colds and hernia’s do not go well together, each cough pushes on your hernia and hurts.  It feels like your insides are shifting with each cough.  There is a trick, I try to lift my knees so it does not build up as much pressure.

I will be back Sunday night with my review of my first run and then want to keep a journal here of my recovery.  I noticed when I was researching hernia’s I did not come across much on the recovery process. I am hoping this will be useful information for someone in my boots looking for the same information.

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

