Now On My Own!

For the last 9 weeks I have had my trainer voice in my head phones “you can do it”, “your half way there”, “whew nice job, time for a cool down”.  Today I did my first 5K on my own, no digital coach.  Just me and my mp3 player my Wife and Daughter bought for my birthday.  Thank you for that gift, using my Daughters with her pop/rap I would just end up running to the tempo of my breath.

I did my 5K in 26:24, trying to complete it in 25:00 flat but, I am not going to push to hard.  I think I have put my poor body through enough this last year, it may revolt and force me into a coma state for a while just to force a rest 🙂

I still miss my coach though.

There is something about Ozzie, MotorHead, Twisted Sister, God Smack ect.  The blood gets pumping and makes me just want to run harder.

I think this weekend I will buy the Zombies, Run app and put all my tunes over to my phone and enjoy metal and zombie survival.

I have also been looking at the Somersault 5K event on Sunday February 17 2013 as my introduction  to my first running event .  I am not going to lie, I am scared and excited as I read and think about it.  I do have to make up my mind soon or it could be full by the time I do sign up.  I mean part of the running was to be able to run these events, it seems so silly having the willies about this?

Also been reading running etiquette do’s and don’t s.  Like wearing the event shirt before you finish is bad luck, how to perform a perfect “snot rocket”.  Lots of great things to know from this article, The Dos and Don’ts of Race-Day Etiquette.  This decision is very overwhelming I am finding, it’s odd I have done stupid things over the years that should have had more effect on me then signing up for a  5K event.

I know I better put in as much cold running as possible this winter because here in Ottawa, Canada.  February  can go either way!

51-2_-_It's_All_In_Your_Head

 

(had to edit my 5K time was off by a few seconds)

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

