My First 5 KM Run Today!

I told ya, dig deep, DIG DEEP maggot!

This morning I ran the couch to 5K run, it was Week 8 Day 3.  I was very happy to see when I checked my Watch and Runtatsic on my phone they both agreed 5 K.  I also used Map My Run to verify the distance.  Starting tomorrow the program has me running the full 30 minutes which means my runs will be over 5 km :). I am very happy and proud seeing as when I started this program the running for 90 seconds had me huffing and puffing like the big bad wolf.

Sadly winter is coming and I will be forced indoors which makes me nervous as I have read after a few months indoors it can take up to a month to get back into form.  Well thankfully my Daughter takes piano lessons in the same building where our library is, I found a few books on building speed, stamina and agility by running that most of the top schools use for there athletes!   The schools tend to keep there parking lots clean of snow and ice, so a couple of night s a week I can go there and run these courses (shuffles, sprints, back pedal ect).  Be a good time to break out my skipping rope and skates for the ice.  Hopefully by this time next year I will be on here yelling “woot my first 10K!”

I really want to thank the running community and other bloggers  who never hesitated to give support and advice.

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

