25 minutes and detoxed.

October 5th slid by me very quietly, Forgot to bask in the 30 days free of no diet Pepsi.   We had stopped at Subway for lunch over the weekend as we finished our odds and ends for Thanks Giving.  I almost got a diet Pepsi to celebrate then thought “hey why not celebrate by NOT drinking a soda.  Instead I treated myself to a small chocolate 1% milk, yes unlike the soda there is calories but, at least my body can use this drink as fuel.  I also ran that night for my couch 2 5K training.

Speaking of that 5K goal I would like to full fill before my hernia surgery!    I ran 25 minutes straight today, I even had to add a 2 block radius to my run so I did not end up having to back track later to get home.  The first 20 minutes was great but, the last 5 minutes I had to tell myself I can do it over and over like a mantra.  Checking out the last few weeks of the plan I will do a few more 25 min, then go to a couple 28 min.  Week 9 day 3 is the 30 min/or 5 km, looking forward to it.

I also made a few other changes to my run, I switched to my New Balance minimus 3090, was stunned when my calf pain went away as soon as I made the switch from my Nike Lunar’s. I also found my foot is not doing this wide arc as I come down on my forefoot.  The second change was switching from hand holding my bottle to the camel back fuel belt I picked up, I like that I can carry my keys and gloves for when it is cold out.  The water not being in my hand but in the back holster feels more natural to me.

 

 

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

