The Key is Research or is Research Key?

 

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.”
― John Steinbeck

 

First things first, I am two and a half weeks in and still no pop of any kind.  When I do get the urge for some bubbly, Perrier does the trick and really does satisfy the soda needs.  Maybe it is the fizz that makes the brain happy?

Woooah!

Last night as planned I did week 4 day 1 of the couch to 5K plan.  I was a little nervous because there is two 5 minutes runs and two 3 minutes runs with very little rest between the sets.  To top it off I had to take a few days off due to calf pain in my right side.  After my warm up the three-minute run went fine, then I did the 5 minute run with no issues.  On the next set I started to feel pain in the calf again but, pushed on to finish. On the second set I was wheezing a bit 2 minutes into the 3 minute set, then on the last 5 minutes something happened.  I was running and felt what felt like a pop in my lungs!  A huge gush of air came out and then from that point on it was easy breathing, I could have easily ran 5 more minutes (it sure felt that way). I did a test this morning and ran on my break for a few minutes and still had what I can only explain as comparing breathing through a straw or breathing through a large pipe?  Google for once has provided no answers.

My calf on the right side is hurting so I did more research on why with a front strike technique it hurts so much, one sign of this may be that I am landing more on my toes and less on the ball of my feet. I tested this theory and yes, I notice when I run it is toes pointing down not out.  One suggestion is to walk landing on your balls and not heal to help train you to run this way, it actually makes walking feel like a glide instead of a thump.   Mind you a few people in the office have given a few odd looks, no worries I have never been one to worry what others think.  We have a long carpeted hallway at home, I am going to practice bare foot running to prepare for next summer!

I am really hoping to run my first 5K before my surgery, fingers cross I complete the program before then.  3 Weeks of recovery is going to bite large.

 

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Key is Research or is Research Key?

  1. MuddyJ says:

    JOINNNNNN USSSSSS…BAREFOOT RUNNING IS AWESOME……

Leave a Reply

