Feel the bur….Argh.

 

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.
– Lance Armstrong

I have what I like to think is a pretty well-rounded workout.  Three days of weights and body exercises and three days of running with a rest day once a week.  Well that plan has me benched and I blame Adam from Myth Busters!  My lunges were 3 sets of 10 using body weight but, recently this became to easy and I was not feeling the burn that I usually feel that lets me know I am working the thigh muscle.  This left me with two choices; hold a 15 pound weight in both hands or use my 10 kettle ball.  Of course I got cocky and used the two 15 pound weights (might explain why for Christmas my Daughter bought me a belt buckle that says cocky).  The first two sets went great, I did 6 reps each leg, final set I heard Adam on Myth Busters says something that caught my attention and I went up on my toes on my right leg instead of my heel and…

Oooooouch!

So you can see clearly here how it is Adams fault, right?

The valuable lesson I learned here is just how easy one can hurt themselves exercising with “distractions”.   What really chaps my lips was I was at the portion of Couch to 5K where my total running was going to be half of a 5K.  Icing the calf and resting it has helped and by Tuesday I should be fine for the week 4 of my runs (fingers crossed on it).

Last night was kind of rough in my house.  My Wife was feeling ill, my Daughter discovered puberty has knocked at the door with umm for lack of a better words bumps (three more grey hairs are now on my head) and my dog was yacking all night.  Having a Chihuahua (long hair) is a daunting task, being so low to the ground they find EVERYTHING.  My Wife was making chicken casadia’s and I guess some of the salsa must have dropped to the floor and you guessed it, Mr Dragon found it and scooped it up.  Hopefully he will feel better today and I will come home to a happy puppy instead of this hung over version I have right now.

He cuts a handsome dash eh!

I think after my shift today I will walk to the 30 min away bus stop to stress my calf a bit.  If I can make that walk then running should be ok Tuesday.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

 

 

 

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

