Never To Late But.

Somebody may beat me, but they are going to have to bleed to do it.
-Steve Prefontaine

I have been picking up a habit, if I can walk there why not run instead.  I run to the store, bus stops and anywhere else I am going unless of course I have groceries or something heavy.  I don’t know why, I mean I was not a fan of running growing up, mind you I was an 70/80’s kid so spent most of my life on a bike trying not to kill myself.

Now in my 40’s I cannot seem to get enough of it, never realized the euphoria you feel after a run.  I am trying to get as much in as I can before my surgery sometime in the fall, that 5K goal is so close!  The Doc advised I would be out of commission for at least 3 weeks and then I have to make a slow comeback.  To make lemonade out of those lemons it will be close to winter and the start of treadmill running for parts of the winter.  It will probably be in my best interest  to go to the gym where I am static and less of a chance of tripping or being bumped.

On an unrelated note we have to buy a new dining room set.  The table is in rock star shape and just new chairs would suffice but, my Wife wants a whole new set.  You see I will walk in and go “hey this is a good price and looks sturdy buy$$”. My Wife has to go through a mental list of what it will clash with, will her new dishes look good and ohhh what about Christmas diner, at this point all I hear is bzzzzzzzzzzz.  I love my Wife, hell she has stuck with my freaky ass for 16 years in 2 months but, I really miss the old bachelor days where 100 milk crates make a bed, TV stand, end table and coffee table plus a book shelf to boot.  Ahh what we do for love eh!

Well I am off for a little me time which is geek for my hour of World of Warcraft before bed.

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

