Running And Addictions (keeping it green)

I am week 3 into the Couch to 5K running guide.  When I first started I will be honest I thought it was going to be a breeze.  As the weeks progress I found myself a bit over whelmed, how can I complete this in 9 weeks?  When I started week 2 I was wheezing and had chest pains.  Yesterday I completed week 2 and was surprised how easy it was to finish, in fact was stunned when the app informed me it was time for my 5 minute cool down walk!  I find I spend quite a bit of time doubting my body, even after the things I have put in through and came out the other side with a smile.  As of today no more self-doubt when it comes to running or anything else I am doing.

I am looking forward to starting week 3 tonight, this is what the routine looks like.

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then do two repetitions of the following:

  • Jog 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
  • Walk 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 400 yards (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 400 yards (or three minutes)

I will probably start to huff and puff at the halfway mark but, I know I can finish it as it is mind over matter.

I was reading Nerd Fitness and Steve had a great article on breaking bad habits.  I have had one that I need to get out of my life, that is my diet pop.  This is one mean monkey on my back.

Om Nom Nom Nom

So starting tomorrow morning I will be posting for 30 days either a green light or a red light.  Green meaning no pop so far and doing good, red meaning I fell off the wagon.  For the next 30 days my goal is to be diet pop free.  If I can get past the 30 days then it will be out of my system and should be able to keep it out of my life for good.  If anyone has some ideas for me to do when the urge hits let me know.  Today I had a pop with lunch so…

Booooo!

 

As of tomorrow, we only want green!

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

