The Secret

When I first started changing my life for the better I had a simple plan.  Portion control, eat cleaner, and watch the weight melt away.  Rinse and repeat and I am done, ignorance is bliss.  At first this plan seemed to be working, I dropped 28 Lbs in about 3 months then at 222 Lbs I just stopped?

Now I had to find another quick fix solution, I seen commercials for Dr Bernstein, Herbal Magic, and Atkins diet and so on.  I could not really afford these quick fixes but, I would read about them, which led to research and the realization these are not healthy and a large portion of people actually gain most of the wait back over a short time.

I also dreamed of going on the Biggest Loser, I could do it and would take advantage and not whine like most of the contestants because I would do it hard core baby!.  Then I read an article Life after ‘Loser’: ‘Every day is a struggle’ and seen that it was not as easy as it looked once you left the show, another dream of weight loss gone.

Then I was talking to a co worker who was losing weight and with amazing results, I asked her what her secret was and she told me.  It turned out you need to Exercise along   with your healthy eating and not just the after supper strolls.  You have to sweat and hurt and feel the burn in your muscles.  When you run your lungs are a lake of fire.  I cried, screamed and whimpered every day.  I disliked words like cardio, heart rate and letters like BMI.

Then one day I woke up and went for a run, I was almost a mile from my house before I stopped to catch my breath.  Next day at the gym I was lifting weights and loving the feeling, it was like a high!

What is bringing on this post, I put 5 boxes and 4 garbage bags full of clothes out on our deck today.  These are the clothes my Wife and I have held onto.  The fear the weight would come back was always in the back of our minds and we did not want to have to buy them again.  Today we are ready to donate these clothes to charity.  I am sitting here typing this in a size 34 pair of pants (I even need a belt).  My T shirt, one of too many my Wife feels I have say’s “smooth like butta” and I do feel “smooth like butta”.  For the last 10 years I would NEVER wear a shirt on its own, it was always padding under a button up shirt.   Yes I am tooting my own horn, I am proud of my Wife and myself.

How did I celebrate this achievement? I did my challenges and weights this morning.  Walked a large portion to my job and will do the same coming home.  I will end it tonight with a date with my Daughter!  I need to catch up on Big Brother tonight and she wants to watch it again with me (she had a hard time keeping some of the plot from me).  To me that will end my day in bliss ❤

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

