Forefoot Strike

Last night while running on the treadmill at the gym I was watching this young lady, she was on the tread mill when I got there and 60 min later after my warm up, weights and stretching I went to do my 30 min run on the treadmill.

She had been there the whole time and I don’t believe she stopped once in 90 min.  I was noticing her form (no not that form).  She kind of leaned in, and was landing on her forefoot not her heal.  I also noticed she did not kick her legs out as far as I did.  I started to copy her form and noticed a few key factors.  She never looked down, her leg never went past her torso and she landed on her forefoot instead of  using her heal, like I was.   I also noticed a few more things, I did not wind as easily, my lower backed stopped throbbing and when I landed it did not feel hard but like I was floating.

Today at work I started to Google about running properly. It turns out what she was doing is an actual technique called the Forefoot Strike.  I have watched a few videos and found one that really gets into the details, but in layman’s terms.

I am excited to get to the track tonight and tape myself running.  I am hoping to see if I can tape me running my way, then with the forefoot strike.  Hopefully watching this will let me see where I need to improve.

About junkmile

It was a stormy night and I just came in from thwarting another Zombie attack, they just don’t give up, oh right wrong story.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

